Moving: The countdown continues

As we hover just above two weeks before moving I find myself taking deep breathes and wiping away tears. I’m nervous about moving. How it will affect Peter, how it will be living in my parent’s basement, how Jacob will transition over to the military…

We still have a lot to do.

The three come on, THREE pages list of things the apartment complex wants us to do in the apartment. I have to say, not all the stains are coming out of the carpet, especially the raspberry vinaigrette that spilled on the carpet in the dining room. The pictures are all taken down. We still have up our Crucifixes, the calendars, the clock, and Peter’s decoration in his room.

When we figured out in April that we would be moving in the future, date unknown at that time, I made a checklist. We decided that we would move 8 weeks before our leave date. I’ve been looking and reading my checklist, and now I find myself behind. Or rather feeling like I’m behind. I think we will be fine, but today I’m in a little bit of a panic. After being away for two weeks, I feel like I want to snatch them back and hold tightly onto them in my fist. The days are slipping through like water and I know this will happen again before Jacob leaves. I’m putting part of my emotions of him leaving into this leave. It’s just one more step closer to him leaving.

Jacob has given his two weeks at work and lined up a part-time job in Hometown (we will both be signing up to sub in the school district). We have given notice to break our lease.

Peppered throughout the rest of the days are Zoo dates (elephant trainings and Lion bone days) we want to see. The last appointments crammed in, dates with friends, and Jacob’s work days. On top of that is still all the packing and cleaning that we need to do.

Change of address, returning items, disconnecting services. All of these things are swimming around in my head. Waiting for the day to do them.

I’m still on the 3 weeks before moving list… I looked at the 2 weeks before move list and whimper. I used to like moving. Before Peter was born, before I married Jacob. I could pack, clean and move within two days. Now it takes longer… much longer. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

