Peter’s birth… Pregnancy until labor starts

This is the second posts in a series of five posts about Peter’s birth. If you want to start with the beginning the first post is here. Throughout the series I have marked different things with *. I use these as a touch-points for when I processed Peter’s birth.

 

Jacob and I were married June 14 and in August found out that we were pregnant. Due April 29th! I remember I tested after Jacob left for his first day of (student) teacher in-service. Then I spent most of the day thinking and reading about interesting ways to tell your husband that you’re pregnant.

Jacob’s really into genealogy. So I added him to our family tree line. Name -Unknown, Born -Sometime in April of ’09. When he found it, at first he didn’t believe me, then I showed him the positive test(s!). We were both excited and thrilled! A little worried about insurance and paying for the birth/appointments. Under the recommendations of friends, we tried for and received State Medical Care.

I loved being pregnant. I was sick… a lot. I thought it was normal at the time, but if I didn’t sleep until 9 am I was throwing up or nauseous allllllll day. Even though it wasn’t normal for first time mothers, I felt Peter move around 14 weeks! Thrilled! Joyed! Loved! I just relished Peter’s movement. I wanted Jacob to be able to feel also, but he didn’t. I would say, how about now. No? Now? NO? Okay, I’ll try again later.

The first time Jacob felt Peter move was December 18th around 9pm. I remember vividly. We were laying in bed at my parent’s house in my old bedroom, Jacob had his arm around my belly (how we normally fell asleep), and Peter kicked. Jacob sat up and I sat up. He beamed and said, ‘was that Peter?!’ I said YES! From there Jacob really started bonding and talking to Peter. My mom had me lay down while I was pregnant and she would feel Peter kick and kick and she would talk to him over and over again. Which is why I think Peter loved and felt safe with my Mom from day one!

I smiled in another picture, but liked this one best.

I gained a lot of weight while pregnant. A lot. I heard this can happen, especially with your first.

I remember Peter kicked my ribs for the first time at Applebee’s Superbowl Sunday. I was sitting at a high circle table.

I read and read and read while I was pregnant, but I didn’t read the right stuff. I read very main-stream guides, when that was not what I wanted in our birth. WHY did I read all that? None of it helped. I remember I was reading in ‘what to expect, when expecting’ and they talked about c-sections. I SKIPPED those pages because it wasn’t going to happen to me! I was going to have a natural birth. I wanted a natural birth. My mom had all natural births.

I had the glucose test and apparently, I didn’t hear the doctor’s right and I had some breakfast before coming in. PB toast. I was scared I was going to throw up the drink. This made me fail the test by a couple points. I had to take the 3 hour glucose test. I was sick all day, never did throw up, just felt like it (which is worse?!). I remember crying and the one time I asked Jacob to leave and get me something that I knew, I just knew, it would make me feel better. Yeah, it was a snickers blizzard. I think it was more the ice cream that settled my stomach. 🙂 I passed the 3 hour glucose test with flying colors.

The end of February I started to feel hiccups! For a couple weeks I would consistently feel Peter hiccuping from 9:30 to 10 pm! From then one it was pretty random and Peter hiccuped a lot.

The First couple days of March, I remember I felt Braxton Hicks. I continued feeling BHs throughout my pregnancy.

In early March my friend wanted me to be her personal attendant. BOY, did she expect a lot, and it was FUN! I was running here and there and there and here. I had a helper, but still did a lot of work. When we got to the reception, I still felt like a million bucks! I was dancing, oh was I dancing. All sorts of silly dancing. You know the one where you grab your ankle and then move around… yeah, I was ROCKING that move. Making the group of drinking people I was dancing with laugh and laugh. I’m pretty sure I was photographed, but never saw it. Only semi-good photo from that night. 🙂

That’s what you get for making silly faces in almost every pictures, Jacob. 🙂

March 24 I started to have contractions. And ended up in the hospital.

I’ll start the next entry with how we stopped labor…

2 Responses

  1. […] Peter’s Birth -Pregnancy […]

Leave a Reply

