New waters

My Husband, Jacob, and I are both teachers. I taught at a small school for two years and then it closed, due to funding. I am staying at home with our son, Peter, who’s a delightful and challenging two year old. Jacob has been looking for a full-time History teacher job for two years, and it hasn’t happened.

We feel God is calling us to become a Military family. This has scared me deeply. I feel like I’m not going to be able to be a single parent to Peter for 10 months while Jacob is in Basic and Tech school. Each time I feel like it’s not possible, we get a ‘God’s breeze’ just a reassurance that everything will be okay.

Jacob has taken the ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) and passed with flying colors. Because of this score, he was able to pick any job he wanted (that was also open). He chose Aviation, I’ll get into that later. 🙂

This is a HUGE change to a family that loves to spend every.single.minute. Together. For our son, who cries when Daddy just goes to work for a couple hours. AND we are also moving 4 hours next month (From Kansas to Iowa), so when Jacob leaves we are close to our families. Who, thankfully, live in the same town.

Genealogy is really important to Jacob, and so I wanted to put this up on a blog so someday our kid(s) and extended family can read about our challenges and joys.

Leave a Reply

